top of page

Jeannie Sherwood

INTERIOR DESIGNER
  • Writer's pictureJeannie Sherwood

Conceptualising My Look & Feel


We have already established my utter disdain for the colour orange and the fact that I feel like I live in dust-bowl desert-like face-brick bunker. Whilst living in the highveld is fast paced & intense, in my home I really want to feel relaxed. I want to feel like I am on holiday. At the beach. Always. I figured, if I am going to be living in the highveld for any length of time (which I am), and I cannot visit the beach, then I will bring the beach to the highveld!


The themes that I have chosen to remind me of the beach, they all have something very calming, something very tranquil and nautical about them (without being obvious). I just cannot decide if I should go light or dark? Or a combination of both? What do you think?

 
OPTION ONE: DARK & MOODY
 

I love a dark exterior with white trim, there is something relaxed, cheeky yet sophisticated about it.



Let us consider the positives:

  • It will hide the dust

  • It is modern

  • It is a practical colour; pets and children can touch it without their handprints or paw prints showing

  • It is easier to clean

  • It is unique for the area

  • There is something cheeky and whimsical about it

  • It is younger, hipper, and more on trend.


Now Let us consider the negatives:

  • It could make the house quite hot- especially in the attic like rooms

  • It could make the house feel smaller- some of the exterior walls are close to the house, if I paint the walls dark, I could end up making the space feel smaller

  • It could make the house dark and cold in winter- there are a lot of trees around the house- it could feel suppressive.

  • For resale purposes, not everyone likes dark colours.

  • Darker paints are more costly

  • If the white trim is not executed perfectly it will look terrible and shoddy.


 
OPTION TWO: LIGHT AND AIRY
 

A white interior is classy, classic and with the right accessories can be made to feel cosy and airy.




Let us consider the positives:

  • It is timeless, classic, and elegant

  • It is fresh, clean, and airy

  • It goes with both modern and classic styles

  • It will make the space feel bigger

  • It will lighten the space up

  • It is more cost effective

  • It is easier to apply & touch up

  • White houses appeal to a broader audience- thus if I wanted to sell the house it would appeal to more people


Now Let us consider the negatives:

  • Every handprint or paw print will show up on surfaces

  • Any dust will show up easily especially on exterior walls after it rains

  • It may create too much of a glair

  • It could make the house feel cold in winter

  • It may be lacking in personality and cold.



 
Now is the time to cast your vote and let me know what you vote for? Light and airy? Or dark and moody?
19 views0 comments
bottom of page